top of page

A Stockholm 15h Layover

Hey You!

Back from my NYC trip (among others this month, honestly, I was on the road almost the whole month), I had two layovers in Scandinavia, one in Stockholm, the other in Oslo, and it was pretty nice.

I will try to sum them up in my next posts ;)

To get in Stockholm from Arlanda airport, you have different ways, but can result expensive if you do not have a lot of time.

By train:

Easiest and fastest way, but expensive ( price = 280sek one way / 540sek one way and return, which is almost 56€ for the ticket with return). The ticket vending machines are in the hall of the airport, yellow and black, and it takes you 1 minute to get your ticket and get in the train.

20 min ride, with a departure every 15/20 mins (or 30 mins after 11pm). To get to the center, just take the terminus " T-Centralen", you will be close to Gamla Stan (the historical center).

I choose this solution, which really was easy but i cryed when I saw my bank account when back :'(

  • There is also the regional train "Pendeltåg"

In the heart of the airport, between the terminals, you will find the SkyCity, an area with some shops and restaurants, where you will find the regional train operated by "SL".

You will have to buy your ticket (130sek one way - almost 15€) at the counter before entering the station.

The ride is 50 mins, and you will get a train every 30 mins. It will also arrive to the "T-Centralen' station.

By Bus:

The bus tickets can be purchased on the machines in the arrival area, and have a little multicolor flag (same as the ones on the busses and the website). Really a cheaper and easy solution (around 99sek one way and 198sek with return >> 21€), only 45 min ride and available every 15 mins. It also arrives at the T centralen terminus is Stockholm.

This is a new bus service in competition with Flygbussarna, which tickets should be available in the bus directly. The ride is also 45 mins and departures are every 20 mins till 11.40pm .

the price is the same as Flygbussarna and it arrived also at the T Centralen terminus.

For my next trip there I think I will choose one of the bus solutions and would advise you to do the same if you wish to save a little money (life is really expensive in the Nordic countries).

I arrived pretty late (9pm) so when leading to the city center, I went directly to my hostel to have a rest. I choose a Youth hostel (booked some months ago) to save money (again) but it really was a nice surprise, for its location (few minutes walk from the station and the hoiorical center) but also for the amazing place it is. I think I will definitely come back there.

Check out the place: City Backpackers Hostel

Private or common showers, available computers, kitchen with free coffee, tea, pasta, nice living rooms with amazing decoration and great terrace (mostly for Summer). Do not miss it!

So, at night, the area is not so vivid, but you can find some restaurants or mini market opened till late. The city center is a little bit further.

I had a very small stay, but I got to visit Gamla Stan, the Historical city center, with a friend, and I really enjoyed the visit. I first went to Stotorget (the main place, where you can find the "Postcard" of Stockholm, its beautiful coloured houses, very high and thin. Then, after eating some pastries (cinnamon or chocolate torte ... yummm) and a cappuccino, I went around the place.

Gamla stan is a small island (one of the many of the city) and so I was on the waterfront to observe the decks, the boats, the closest island, small streets with amazing houses, and finally came to the Palace. Lucky me, it was the changing of the Guards so I remained a little there to observe. Really impressive. Then I just had the time to go back on one of the numerous bridges to get the Arlanda Express to the airport.

Definitely have to get back there to see the rest!

Posts à l'affiche
Posts Récents
Archives
Rechercher par Tags
Pas encore de mots-clés.
Retrouvez-nous
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page