top of page

Moving to Palermo, Sicily

Moving abroad has been my moto for a long time. But this 2016 beginning in Bali (Gili T. excatly) has been the departure point of the whole adventure. Seing people smiling all along the day, even without having any possession and living hardly every day made me rethink about my life and what I really wanted. What I really liked. What I wanted to do with my life. "I want to go to work with that smile on my face!". And so I started looking to something that could make me happy. And this was only a 6 characters word: TRAVEL.

I started then to find a way to reach this goal, how to move abroad and discover new cultures, but also being able to find a job in Tourism. And there it was, a 6 months Master in Sicily, Palermo.

"I 'd rather have a passport full of stamps than a house full of stuff"

1 month to quit everything, to separate myself of all the goods in life I had (and that was not easy). Sell my car, my stuff, pack my souvenirs, quit my job and my city, be far from my loved ones (but I will try to see them often).

I never have been to Sicily, so this will be a big discovery, even if I already speak Italian and I have been several times to Italy. But I have to say that it was love at first sight.

Couple of weeks before I had been looking to Internet to find a flat, and I have to say that it was quite easy, just entering "Erasmus flat". I found there a pretty affordable flat with other nice girls, in the city center (Via Roma) and close enought to my school for the next 6 months. Btw, call Davide, he'll be very helpful http://www.palermoerasmuslife.net/english/apartments-for-rent/ .

So far, I did not have a lot of time to visit during the day time (I finish school when it is already night), but the city is very alive if I could say so, everything is opened late and 7/7, lots of bars, small markets where you can find anything, some parties and nice rooftop spots that I hope to have a cocktail there.

Palermo is also good for the transportation (rental bikes, many buses, even for the airport). And what to say about the seaside... even in November, with the 20°C, it really is a nice spot to start the discovery.

And finally, the food.. (I know Eric will love it ;) ): Dolci di Mandorla (cakes with almonds), Pastries, Pasta with seafood (pesce spada yumm), Pizza, .... I will try to make posts about it.

So to sum up, a nice discovery and new life to start....

Posts à l'affiche
Posts Récents
Archives
Rechercher par Tags
Pas encore de mots-clés.
Retrouvez-nous
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page